Single vs Double planking

As a novice, I am curious as to why there are these two methods of planking. Is it to replicate a traditional ship-building technique or is it simply a model-building method?

Last edited:
It's so that beginners have the opportunity to correct the first planking ( if needed ) with fillers then finally finish with the second planking,
Best regards John,

As a novice, I am curious as to why there are these two methods of planking. Is it to replicate a traditional ship-building technique or is it simply a model-building method?
Greetings, there is no traditional double-plank method. The ships were built with single planks only, When the ship was built, it had frames instead of bulkheads used in the ship model kits. To save money, kit manufacturers are using fewest bulkheads to form the hull. It makes it difficult to lay the planks naturally. Therefore kit manufacturers provide double-plank where the first layer is thick planks to form the hull. The modeler can apply filler to those imperfections spots and sand it smooth to make a foundation for the second planks.

Kit manufacturers can also economise by supplying very thin strips of the outer planking which is usually a quality hard wood: walnut or (yuk) sapele. Used alone these strips would give little strength to the hull and probably show daylight through the seams. Thicker bass wood in the first layer is a cheap solution.

Is it to replicate a traditional ship-building technique or is it simply a model-building method?

If you wish to build a kit with single planking the offerings from Syren may work for you. There are no kits better out there. There may be other kit makers that offer single planking but I am not sure and am curious to know if there are any. Many kits (not all) use the wood mentioned above for the outer layer but they are not easy to taper and pre-shape and are often very grainy so do not look realistic.
Allan