The Crimson Spanker - Blender 3D model

If you missed my intro thread, Dave was kind enough to invite me to start a build log of this project so here goes.

To begin with a bit of background. Since I was a small kid I've been into tall ships and everything that goes along with them, especially high seas piracy but, as an artist, my interest was mainly aesthetic. I love the way everything looked back then but as to knowledge of maritime history, sorry no, haven't a clue about any of it. So I come off the back of bingewatching Black Sails for the third time in as many years and I'm inspired to model something awesome like that. I know some of the guys who worked on that show and jealous doesn't even begin to describe what I'm feeling!

So that's where I am- I know what I like but I have no idea what all the bits are even called. The Crimson Spanker is going to be my very own pirate ship. It'll double as my office in VR, where I expect to be holding most of my meetings a couple of years from now. The ship design is going to be more along the lines of what I think is cool, rather than an accurate rendition of any specific ship that ever existed but it still has to be "realistic" for a given definition of such. What I mean is that I want this ship to be something that could have existed back in the day. I know enough engineering to know that there's always more than one way to skin a cat so I'm assuming there were as many hull shapes and mast constructions as there were shipbuilders but I do want it to be constructed using techniques that are at least similar to the kinds that were available then. If there are commonalities that apply to all ships then I want to share those, rather than just look weird like nothing that ever existed before. Something that, to a better trained eye than mine, looks like it could have sailed.