Best Expert Ship kit

Thank you for the welcome.

Maybe I am getting ahead of myself. I am a beginner, have no experience in building. I thought to challenge myself, I should jump straight to expert level. Do you think that is too naive ? Basically, I want to build something that is challenging, also looks good under the lights at home. I have done some research, there are few ships in mind like Norske Love, Victory but not sure which one to go with, and whether you would suggest to go with any of them considering it might be difficult for someone newbie like me. Thanks
Man after my heart, i jumped straight into Deagostinis Victory 1:84 scale and loving it. Made loads of mistakes that could be rectified and some that couldn't but unless you're a pro you wouldn't really notice it. My advice if you like a challenge just dive straight in. Hull planking was worst but give it a go mate

Welcome aboard. There are many ship models out there that would provide a serious challenge that are not considered "expert" level - but more like intermediate. BlueJacket Ship Crafters and Model Shipways/Model Expo have a wide range of kits from beginner on up. They also seem to have the best instructions for how to build your chosen ship. Many of the overseas manufacturers don't provide very good documentation for the build and you have to rely on a lot more research to get it done right. Which ever model you choose to start with - the important thing to remember is this is a hobby - relax and enjoy it.

A number of years ago, Bob Hunt, founder of Lauck Street Shipyard produced a series of true POF kits : Fair American, Halifax, Fubbs and Kingfisher. These kits set the standard for model ship kits, and Kingfisher was the crown jewel. All boxwood, authentic construction techniques, historically accurate and created in collaboration with David Antscherl, of the “Swan Class” books. This may be the best kit ever produced. They are rare and pricey, but if you find one, buy it!