Capt. John Smith Shallop by Pavel Nikitin 1/32

Nice Job. I have same model and am frustrated with the frame Have stooped and will restart this fall. What did you have problems with?
The frames were so delicate and my ham-hands ended up breaking a few pieces. Lots of faring to get the planks to lay right, or at least pretty good. I ended up using lots of wood glue to act as filler between the frames and planks where they didn't quite lay right after faring. I like the look of the synthetic rope better than cotton I've gotten on other ships, but cotton is easier to work with. The cotton ropes don't unwind when you cut them and they tighten on themselves easier. And the ship in general is so small. I have limited experience and this shallop was so much smaller than I've worked with added an extra challenge. And lots sanding to get the laser burn marks off. Overall am really happy with the end product and got good practice with a smaller ship. Good luck with your shallop!

Kramer, All or the above!
I especially like how the sails came out! Could you give us a run down on that? Maybe with process pics? All the extraneous detail, the oars, barrel, axe and lantern give the model a cinematic sense of reality, like I expect Capt. Smith and his crew to come aboard any moment! Well done!
I've been looking at the Pavel Nikitin promos for their models and was curious to know if they are as user friendly as the pictures of the kits make them appear. The Drakkar model looks very appealing for this reason. Although my experience with wood kits always keeps "Caveat Emptor" close to mind!Cautious

Great Job. You should Be justifiably very proud!

Pete

Kramer, All or the above!
I especially like how the sails came out! Could you give us a run down on that? Maybe with process pics? All the extraneous detail, the oars, barrel, axe and lantern give the model a cinematic sense of reality, like I expect Capt. Smith and his crew to come aboard any moment! Well done!