HM Brig Sloop Speedy Vanguard Models kit [Completed Build]

I'm coming a bit late to this log as I have already built the hull. This is my first try at logging my work and I am feeling a bit inadequate and don't really know what I should write, but I fancied giving it a go. Hopefully other folks can learn from my mistakes.
As I have said I have already just about finished the second planking of the hull and have started to coat it using a clear matt varnish. I have been pleasantly surprise how well the construction went, down no doubt to Chris Watton's excellent design and manufacturing. The wood used for the second planking is Box, This is my first experience of working with it and found it easy to both cut and bend, particularly using hot air. My only complaint would be due to the woods hardness it blunts scalpel blades in no time!
My, probably over ambitious, plan is to finish the brig as in the painting by Jeff Hunt1641545886467.pngIMG_20220104_143212.jpgIMG_20220104_133956.jpg
Today while waiting for the varnish on the hull to dry I have started working on the bowsprit, jibboom and flying jibboom, and this is where I first deviate from the plans as I intend to rig this model using the knowledge gained from the books such as 'Rigging Period Ship Models by Lennarth Petersson', The Anatomy of Nelson's Ships by CN Longridge plus many others. The first difference will be to remake the bowsprit cap to take a square tenon instead of the kit's round one, this I will do with all the other mast caps as well but this one is a bit more difficult being cut at an angle.
IMG_20220106_102218.jpgIMG_20220106_103827.jpgIMG_20220106_110138.jpgIMG_20220106_113723.jpg