Le Rochefort - 1787 Harbor Yacht 1:24 - build log by Nersch

Hello everyone,

I started already some time ago my planning to build the Le Rochefort from ANCRE.
Some days ago I was informed during a local modeler meeting that this group build was started in the SOS forum and I would be very happy to join this group build.
I studied the already existing build logs and I'm sure that I can learn a lot from you guys.

What I'm still struggling is to decide on the scale I will/shall use to build my Le Rochefort.

2023-03-15_6.JPG

I made a jig for the scale 1/24 and one for the scale 1/36 to have something on hand to get a better feeling for the scales and size, but I'm still undecided.
Maybe I have to throw a coin ;)
What would you consider to be easier for a beginner? 1/36 or 1/24?

2023-03-15_3.JPG

I made these frames for the same purpose and I used pear and american boxwood (aka zapatero). Top and bottom on the image.

2023-03-15_8.JPG

I'm looking forward to have a good communication and exchange with you.

Hi Nersch. Personally I would go for the smaller scale. For me it would be less wasteful of timber, quicker to make, manageable for display purposes.
However a 1/24 would certainly look more impressive. I’m not sure if the 1/24 would be ‘easier’ to make than 1/36.
I’m sure there will be plenty of alternative opinions on this forum.

Hello Nersch, it's nice that you're joining us, welcome to the group building Le Rochefort. Good start in any case, your frames look very clean. As for scale, it's entirely up to you. 1:24 will probably not be easier, but the very small parts are slightly larger than 1:36, which makes processing easier and you can work more cleanly, it becomes more detailed. In any case, I am looking forward to many pictures and reports.

Hi,
Honestly, you have already two jigs and your frames are really nice. If you have time, make both...
Hi Jean1969,

To be frank, I had already the same idea :cool: