OCCRE Golden Hind - beginner (have a few questions)

Hi all,

I live in the Netherlans and I am new to building wooden ship models. In te past however, I have done many other model builds.
This year I started my very first kit: a beginners kit from Amati (see below). My goal is to one time build "De Zeven Provinciën" from Kolderstok.
For now I want to improve my skills and I started the Golden Hind from OCCRE

IMG_0463.jpg

Golden Hind Build
So I started with the frame and decks.
IMG_1745.jpg
IMG_0499.jpg
My first question to you guys: do I need to varnish this deck? I also bought the paint kit that OCCRE sells and it includes their satin varnish (https://occre.com/en/products/barniz-satinado-100-ml). I am affraid the deck will become to shiny, do you guys have any advice?

Many thanks already and groeten uit Holland.

Hi. The deck will not shine because you have a satin varnish, otherwise medium or semi-gloss. I hate shiny wood but satin is ok. I use it for everything. Before you apply varnish, I recommend using some light stain, it will completely change the deck, unless you prefer light Occre wood.
Before you apply anything, make a pattern - a piece of each strip and apply varnish, stain or even paint.

First I apply a pore plug acrylic to water, let it dry and litter with fine sandpaper. Then I apply matte colorless varnish, also water. In fact, this is the treatment I use for the entire ship.

Do you mean something like this when you are talking about making a pattern? By not staining the entire strip?

EFABACBC-CBB9-4DA9-A17D-48B7C090B08B.jpeg

Personally, I prefer a bit darker wood for the deck but that is my preference only. I apply a matte or satin brushing lacquer to the deck at the stage you are at. You won't be able to apply finish later. One thing - whatever your choice of finish is, try it on scraps of wood first to see what you think. The image I am adding here has brushing lacquer on the deck

Nuestra_84.jpg