saying hi from uk

hi my name is dave I am a new comer from the uk.i'm collecting deagostini parts for HMS victory I do plan on doing a build diary but i'm not very good with computers so I am going to have to learn how to send pictures thanks for letting me waffle on and I hope to speak to you very soon.

Welcome aboard. I hope you will find this site useful and am looking forward to your log on the Victory. At least living there, if you have a question, you could take a weekend and drive down to see the real vessel. Building this model will be a real challenge, but when completed, it will be well worth the effort. Not much in life can beat sitting back and looking at a completed fully rigged model you built from just wood, string and a little bit of metal.

Hi David,
glad that you are here ! If you need help with attaching some pics you can email me directly at donnie(at)shipsofscale.com and I will help you via email. It is a pretty straight forward process, but at the start it seems rather daunting.

A lot of it really starts with how you want your image to be displayed, cropped or resized.

There is a huge difference between the size of the "file" of the image verses the size of the physical image such as 600 x 800 pixels. Both 600 x 800 pixel size images can be a large file size or a small file size depending on how you "compress" it. If I remember off the top of my head, I think I have the forums set up to attach a maximum "width" of 900 pixels, and the "file size" to about 300kB. That is still a very large file that I have allowed for posting so that the detail can be expressed.

I personally use Corel Paint Shop Pro 7 and it has a very easy method of cropping and final compression.