Tying a Block to the Bowsprit / Yard

Hello Forum Members,

I'm trying to figure out how to tie a block to the bowsprit (or a yardarm). For example, here is an image from @mati.n and his amazing build:

1642124010400.png

The large triple block will receive the stay. But where are the ends of the rope securing it to the bowsprit hidden? It's not just a large circle (created by a splice) that is slid over the end because stuff is in the way. I'm new to rigging and can't figure out how to make this look right - and there are lots of places I will need to do this sort of thing.

HELP!

Yes. it was sliced into a continuous loop, then served over, then seized to the block and yard. You have to estimate the length of the closed loop. The first time may take several tries, but with experience, you get it pretty close to the mark every time. If you unravel the ends a bit, intertwine them together, add a bit of glue to hold them, then hide the false splice with the seizing, it looks good. This operation may have to be done around the yard or bowsprit, which makes it more difficult. Use needle nose pliers or tweezers if the work are is tight. As usual, steady hands are necessary, so ground your elbow or wrists on something solid if you can. A shortcut, using and overlapping method, would be this:

1642127355570.png

It's a real pain doing this with sewing thread and blocks smaller than 3mm.
1642127663795.png

Last edited: