Apóstol Felipe (OcCre) 1:60 [COMPLETED BUILD]

This is my first build log and as a novice I 'am a little lost with respect to how much I shall comment on my project - but for now I 'will just go ahead and look forward for any advice.

I went through the manual and the plans a number of times an made (new) notes (and questions) every time realizing that I should definitely not start the actual build before I had at least a good idea of how, I should proceed.
The kit does not contain a base for the model or any indication of where and how to install pedestals which was what I wanted. So I came up with this solution:

IMG_2568.JPG

I don't know what the proper name is in English (not even in Danish) for the "bolt", but it has an outer diameter of 5 mm and an inside thread of M4 (4 mm) plus some indentations below the bolt-head making a firm grip after gluing. Since the false keel is 5 mm, I just cut a channel for the bolt and and glued and reinforced the construction on both sides of the false keel. For the pedestal body I used a brass towel-knob into which I cut a groove (Dremel) for the real keel (also 5 mm). I' will have to drill a 4 mm hole when the keel is mounted for the threaded rod which connects the upper bolt with a twin mounted on the backside of the wooden base:

IMG_2579.JPGIMG_2582.JPG

All the bulkheads where first filled and dry fitted together with the false decks utilizing the latter (still dried fitted) to ensure that the bulkheads were glued perpendicular to the false keel and reinforced with square timber on both sides of the false keel for further strength and hull symmetry:

IMG_2602.JPG

The deck planks are 1x3 mm lime wood. With my (old) eye sight that prevent me from marking the butts with simulated nails, but instead I decided to plank the deck(s) with 6 cm planks (corresponding to a quite realistic length of 3.6 m for real). I wanted a pattern of: 413241... and made a deck-copy out of scratch material as a guide:

IMG_2629_1.JPG