Cad Assistance Please

J L

OK, I am a novice in this area. I have scanned general plans of naval ships and saved them as jpg. Now which program, AutoDesk or Corel, will import the jpg's and allow me to scale them to my preferred scale. Also between the two, AutoDesk and Corel, which would be the best, in other words, the easiest?

like all software there is a learning curve. so it is hard to say which is easier it depends on your back round and experience with drawing software.

what is your end goal here to just scale the plans?

Hello Dave,
Some experience, not much with AutoCad, with winter approaching I will have the time to learn, however I have heard from a few others that Corel is easier. Thus a simple question that has a complicated answer. As to the end goal, after scaling the plans, 1/200 scale, I will print them, cut them out, glue them to polystyrene, cut he polystyrene and build the ship.

sorry i can not answer which software is easier, for me personally AutoCad would be easier because i have years of working with AutoCad.

you did say you have scanned naval plans so why not just scale up the JPEG files you have?

it is difficult to suggest what you should do because i can not see what plans you have or what you want to do with them other than scale them up.

post the JPEG files you have so i can take a look at them

Hi Dave,
The scans are of the standard general plan book printed by the Navy. I have scaled them up using Photoshop , I am looking for something with more accuracy.

AutoDesk is a professional program (not the best) and CorelDraw is more for generic use, so I am sure that CD has a less steep learning curve. It has its limitations but it is not likely that you will hit them.
János

Hello Janos,
You say CorelDraw, does it have the ability to import jpg's and then scale them? I was thinking more along the lines of Corel Cad, are they the same program, or, am I confused? Which is a natural state of affairs for me.;)

Hi,