Hello from Wiltshire UK.

I joined the group a while ago and have been looking at the way things are done. I would love to scratch build a model of HMS Agamemnon 1781, 1:64 scale, my wife's ancestral grandfather is Henry Adams of Bucklers Hard, Hampshire he built many ships that were at Trafalgar, and I would love to build this ship for her. I know it will be a hard build as I have never built a ship before, but if I don't try I will never know.
The first thing I have to learn is to build the Keel and frame.
I am 63 and will have plenty of time in the near future.
Any help or advice would be a great help.
Thank you
Michael

that looks like an impressive ship to build and way beyond my skills. The caldercraft kit looks good but it's a hell of a price.

Very impressive ship. Can't afford to purchase the kit so would like to try to build from scratch.

I joined the group a while ago and have been looking at the way things are done. I would love to scratch build a model of HMS Agamemnon 1781, 1:64 scale, my wife's ancestral grandfather is Henry Adams of Bucklers Hard, Hampshire he built many ships that were at Trafalgar, and I would love to build this ship for her. I know it will be a hard build as I have never built a ship before, but if I don't try I will never know.
Thank you
Michael
Hallo Michael,
first of all a warm welcome here on board of our forum.
You have a big challenge in front of you - but with crossing the fingers and the help of friends (in the forum) it can hopefully work.
Especially the Agamemnon with it 64 guns is not really a small model, especially when you never built a ship model before.
Would it not be better to first learn the construction methods on a small ship, to get the principles and to understand, and afterwards to jump into this big project?
Scratch building sounds cheap, but you will need some power tools (or it is making it easier if you have them), or you have to buy step by step also the gun barrels, blocks etc.