Tapering Masts and Yards on a Lathe

You don't need to use cutters or

turning chisels to shape dowels. Plus, at such small diameters, if the cutter catches on the wood grain EVEN ONCE, you'll snap the part anyway. Sanding the material away is best. You don't have that much material to remove anyway, so using a risky cutter is not a good idea. I was using a stationary live center. Its a pointy thing.
I have a lot of experience turning wood. I have very sharp turning tools too. But I will try different methods just to see what I can do. I have a lot of dowels, so I'll determine which works best - turning or sanding. It'll be interesting!

Last edited:
I have a lot of experience turning wood. I have very sharp turning tools too. But I will try different methods just to see what I can do. I have a lot of dowels, so I'll determine which works best - turning or sanding. It'll be interesting!
Use both! Turning works for larger diameters when you want to shape or remove lots of material. Sanding or lightly using needle files is used for very small, delicate pieces.

Use both! Turning works for larger diameters when you want to shape or remove lots of material. Sanding or lightly using needle files is used for very small, delicate pieces.
I agree that we can and use all of the tools and techniques available for any particular need and be adaptable to the use and manner employed. I just like the tactile methods as there is more feedback. Just my own tack(s). Rich

I agree that we can and use all of the tools and techniques available for any particular need and be adaptable to the use and manner employed. I just like the tactile methods as there is more feedback. Just my own tack(s). Rich
Sanding on a lathe is very doable! I've sanded pens to 12000 grit and created mirror finishes all while mounted on my lathe. My lathe has variable speeds too, so as to not create excessive heat. The headstock is hollow and I can insert dowels from the end. I'm interested in double tapering.